So under the current edition of warhammer fantasy battles i.e. 8th edition, dwarfs may take a runic banner with the Strollaz rune to give the unit vanguard.
How does this affect a character in the unit? My view is as this is a magic item / rune it would also apply to characters who join the unit much such as when you give a unit the flaming banner this carries over to the attacks of any characters who join the unit.
As the vanguard comes from a runic banner and is not a "natural" ability of a unit, I read the usual rules of special abilities from units not applying to characters joining the unit as not applying but would be keen for any TOs or anyone else who has had to rule on this.
Lord Zanthrax's never ending chaos dwarf blog: http://www.chaos-dwarfs.com/forum/showth...#pid276052