It is currently Mon Jul 16, 2018 3:23 am

All times are UTC+08:00

Post subject: Assault Bridges
PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2011 1:53 am 

I'm fairly new to FoW and in the final stages of building a late-war German force which I can deploy as either an infantry or panzer company. One component of my force choice is a Gepanzerte Panzerpionier platoon. Now these lads come with Sdkfz251/7 which have assault bridges. Anyone know if rules exist for use of these bridges or are they merely decorative? I can't seem to find rules for them (I'm either blind or not looking in the right place :lol: ). I imagine that in order to place the bridges over an obstacle everyone jumps out of the 'track, then spends a turn (or more) under fire placing the bridge. Once I have this lot all painted-up I'll place some pics in the new 'army pics' thread doing the rounds.

Post subject: Re: Assault Bridges
PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2011 7:45 am 

Yeah it's a tricky one for find for sure. Main rulebook (The big one not the small handy one) page 215.

Basically pioneers starting next to an obstacle (ie trench) can place a bridge at the end of their shooting step. They can't do it if they are pinned down, and can't claim being concealed or gone to ground. Assault Bridges are difficult going and once placed can't be retrieved. An assault bridge placed by a halftrack can't be crosses by a fully tracked vehicle.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2011 8:46 pm 

Thanks very much for that Advanceop, that is great! It also explains why I can't find it in the rules as all I have is the 'Open Fire' pocket rule book. Gives me an excuse to visit the shop again and spend up on the full hard-back edition!! :)

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2011 6:27 am 

No Worries. While the small book is a great handy reference it doesn't have all the rules. That said we are really only talking the extra rules for fortifications and things that get past them IIRC.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2011 8:57 am