It is currently Wed Dec 19, 2018 3:40 am

All times are UTC+08:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2014 9:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 9:48 pm
Posts: 987
Location: Brisbane
So I'm trying to make sense of 7th Ed and thinking of dusting off my Grey Knights but have some questions...interested to hear what others think.

1. Brotherhood Banner - Codex states auto pass Force tests. Does this mean that you no longer have to roll to manifest the Force power?

2. Nemesis greatsword - the reference to this still being a S10 hit is gone from the FAQ. Is it back to being S6?

3. Justiciary etc in the new FAQ are not mentioned as characters anymore...so are they?

4. Psychic Pilot rules allow you to cast powers. Page 25 of the rules states that whilst in a transport psykers can only cast witchfire powers. Does this mean that anything with the psychic pilot rule only can cast witchfire?

(As GK have access Telepathy my Rhinos will now be casting Psykic Shriek!!!)

Plse add to this if you have more questions.

_________________
Those who oppose the forces of darkness do not survive. those who oppose it die under the stampeding feet of its minions and those that don't have no promises, for the gods are fickle beings of truths, half-truths, and whole lies.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2014 9:28 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 7:27 am
Posts: 3500
Location: The void
much of these answers are in the new 7th ed FAQ.

brotherhood banner no longer has that line of text

the sword is still just an upgrade, not an actual weapon as far as I am aware

not sure on justicare but common sense would rule it a character like every other sergeant in the game

vehicles, like almost every other model, have set powers as outlined in FAQ

_________________
existential crisis in 3... 2... 1... existential crisis aborted, Check out my daemonkin Blog!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2014 10:48 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:09 pm
Posts: 3159
Tyrus is correct.

Vechiles come with set powers.

Dreadknight is still S10 with sword.

Justicar is still a character same as the HQs, other squad leaders n Dreadknight are.

And yea Brotherhood Banner have lost the auto active force weapons.

_________________
"Surround yourself with the greatest warriors at your command, or cower in the deepest and darkest hole you can find. It matters not. I shall take your head for the Great Khan and for the Emperor."
-Kor'sarro Khan, White Scars 3rd Company.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2014 12:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 9:48 pm
Posts: 987
Location: Brisbane
Are you sure that a DK is S10 with a sword?...

Its like saying that a character with a power fist and a lightning claw gets to reroll to wound when he uses the power fist. One special weapon does not cross over to another. After all you have to swap out a DCC weapon to take the sword. Doesn't that imply it is a different weapon?

_________________
Those who oppose the forces of darkness do not survive. those who oppose it die under the stampeding feet of its minions and those that don't have no promises, for the gods are fickle beings of truths, half-truths, and whole lies.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2014 12:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 9:48 pm
Posts: 987
Location: Brisbane
Also there is nothing now that specifies that a Justicar is a character.

While yes I agree that it should be, and that's how I will play it ...this is no longer spelt out in the rules anywhere...

_________________
Those who oppose the forces of darkness do not survive. those who oppose it die under the stampeding feet of its minions and those that don't have no promises, for the gods are fickle beings of truths, half-truths, and whole lies.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2014 12:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 8:48 am
Posts: 1786
Quote:
Are you sure that a DK is S10 with a sword?...

Its like saying that a character with a power fist and a lightning claw gets to reroll to wound when he uses the power fist. One special weapon does not cross over to another. After all you have to swap out a DCC weapon to take the sword. Doesn't that imply it is a different weapon?
Does the Sword have a profile or refer to a profile in the main rulebook?

If not, it wouldn't actually be classified as a weapon, it would be more of a special rule mechanic (ie item X grants ability Y). At that point, all it is doing is adding to the model's abilities, I don't see an issue with that.

If it does count as a weapon, and the rules for using weapons haven't been charged then it might not stack like that.

I'd also have a look at the rules for DCCWs in the main rulebook - you might find the answer is in ther if it's not covered in the GK FAQ.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2014 2:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 7:27 am
Posts: 3500
Location: The void
just looked into it and I think I will change my answer.

both are weapons listed in the nemesis weapons list and from FAQ the greatsword, not having a specific stat line, is treated as an unusual force weapon as per the rule book.

Given that the sword now counts as a weapon with a set profile, i suppose you would treat it like any other mixed weapons model, choose one and go for it. against MEQ or worse, the sword would be the way to go, otherwise doom fist.

But on the plus side neither the sword nor the doomfist have the specialist weapon rule, therefore you can wield 2 you get +1 attack for having two weapons.

_________________
existential crisis in 3... 2... 1... existential crisis aborted, Check out my daemonkin Blog!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2014 2:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 9:48 pm
Posts: 987
Location: Brisbane
And you can still cast hammer hand which is +2S now bringing it up to S8, so it will be able to ID most power armoured models.

On another note...most broken unit I can see in The Grey Knights codex...(assume you've already taken Coteaz...)

Henchmen unit
1x Psyker
2x warriors
Rhino

- Totals 58 points
- Generates 2 Warp Charges
- Is 2 Troops (objective secured) units
- Take Telepathy and cast Psykic Shriek all day long

If you spam 6 units with Coteaz that's only 448 points ( with 14 warp charge)!!

_________________
Those who oppose the forces of darkness do not survive. those who oppose it die under the stampeding feet of its minions and those that don't have no promises, for the gods are fickle beings of truths, half-truths, and whole lies.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2014 2:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:09 pm
Posts: 3159
Malakii, can you understand that Rhinos and all the units listed in the GK FAQ that come with set powers cant change those powers... means you cant change them for a roll on the other tables...

Also the Dreadknight has always been S10 AP 2 with re-roll hits, wounds n armour pens. Since the day the book was released...

But I guys every one is now use to reading into every thing GW tells them...

Like GW loves it customers, not their money...
GW employees can actually read, write and structure things with words well...
GW models are expensive, I have (censored) loads of money and don't care...

GKs unfortunately have a heap of gapping holes that need FAQing, like an extra 2 pages then what they have at the moment.

_________________
"Surround yourself with the greatest warriors at your command, or cower in the deepest and darkest hole you can find. It matters not. I shall take your head for the Great Khan and for the Emperor."
-Kor'sarro Khan, White Scars 3rd Company.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2014 3:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 7:27 am
Posts: 3500
Location: The void
Quote:
Also the Dreadknight has always been S10 AP 2 with re-roll hits, wounds n armour pens. Since the day the book was released...
always been does not mean always will. with the RAW as it currently is, the sword is specifically an unusual force weapon and counts as an additional weapon and must be chosen or not when striking and must be treated like any other model with two weapons.

Quote:
Malakii, can you understand that Rhinos and all the units listed in the GK FAQ that come with set powers cant change those powers... means you cant change them for a roll on the other tables...
yeah psykers can roll for new powers, rhinos cant. But I would just use the warp charge from the rhino for the psykers to cast their power with 2 dice, done.

_________________
existential crisis in 3... 2... 1... existential crisis aborted, Check out my daemonkin Blog!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2014 3:16 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 11:50 am
Posts: 1350
Quote:
Malakii, can you understand that Rhinos and all the units listed in the GK FAQ that come with set powers cant change those powers... means you cant change them for a roll on the other tables...
I think he's referring to the Psyker inside casting Shriek out of the top, and using the Rhino as a Warp Charge battery.

edit: Ninja'd

_________________
My Sons of Medusa Blog


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2014 3:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 9:48 pm
Posts: 987
Location: Brisbane
Quote:
Malakii, can you understand that Rhinos and all the units listed in the GK FAQ that come with set powers cant change those powers... means you cant change them for a roll on the other tables...
...it's the 10 point Psyker henchman that casts Telepathy (Psykic Shreak) and this 58 point unit generates 2 Warp Charges making it very easy to cast.

Quote:
Also the Dreadknight has always been S10 AP 2 with re-roll hits, wounds n armour pens. Since the day the book was released....
Actually no, it was the FAQ that made this happen and now that ruling has gone so we are left with a S6 AP3 Unusal Force Weapon that has re-rolls

edit: Double ninja'd!!

_________________
Those who oppose the forces of darkness do not survive. those who oppose it die under the stampeding feet of its minions and those that don't have no promises, for the gods are fickle beings of truths, half-truths, and whole lies.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2014 3:25 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:09 pm
Posts: 3159
By RAW then most models in the GK dex cant make a look out sir roll either. As the dex nor the FAQ rules those models as characters. Which means those models cant issue a challenge, nor make precise hits/shots.

Just another reason why GKs have been hit hard.

And actually no the deadknight has always been played like that.

No way didn't know that, thanx for enlightening me. the 58pt unit is a nice idea, don't see it staying on the board to long or being overly effective.

But hey just my point of view as a seasoned GK player, so who cares!

_________________
"Surround yourself with the greatest warriors at your command, or cower in the deepest and darkest hole you can find. It matters not. I shall take your head for the Great Khan and for the Emperor."
-Kor'sarro Khan, White Scars 3rd Company.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2014 3:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 7:27 am
Posts: 3500
Location: The void
Image

_________________
existential crisis in 3... 2... 1... existential crisis aborted, Check out my daemonkin Blog!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2014 3:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 7:27 am
Posts: 3500
Location: The void
Quote:
By RAW then most models in the GK dex cant make a look out sir roll either. As the dex nor the FAQ rules those models as characters. Which means those models cant issue a challenge, nor make precise hits/shots.

In the methodology of superannuation, Compare the pair:


[] The greatsword has a rule in the FAQ that specifically mentions it is an unusual force weapon, changing it from the rules it was previously.


[] The omission of a reference to the sergeant of a squad being a character, different to every single other sergeant-esk model in the game mean they are not characters, changing the rules from what they were previously.


i think one of these would be a quick trip to a heated argument.

_________________
existential crisis in 3... 2... 1... existential crisis aborted, Check out my daemonkin Blog!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC+08:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited