It is currently Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:39 am

All times are UTC+08:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Eldrad's Divination
PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2013 8:29 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:36 pm
Posts: 2400
Are you still an Eldar player with Eldar as Allies?

Eldrad's power lets you redeploy d3 units before the start of the game. The rules says, 'The Eldar player may...'

So does this mean, for a Tau/Eldar list...

1) Yes, you are both a Tau AND an Eldar player, and Battle brothers, therefore it is fine.
2) No you are not an Eldar player, you cannot use it at all.
3) Yes, but only for units in the Eldar detachment.

_________________
2013, Warhammer 40,000 Ultimate Champion
2012-13 Wargammer 40,000 General's & Standard League Champion
"I'm saying... I'm an insect who dreamt he was a man. But now the dream is over, and the insect is awake."


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Eldrad's Divination
PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2013 8:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 11:50 am
Posts: 1350
As today, I vote 2.

You're a Tau player, just stealing some Eldar psychic defence :D

_________________
My Sons of Medusa Blog


Last edited by Belly on Sun Apr 28, 2013 8:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Eldrad's Divination
PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2013 8:34 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:36 pm
Posts: 2400
Quote:
As today, I vote 1.

You're a Tau player, just stealing some Eldar psychic defence :D
Do you mean you vote 2? :P

I think its 1 personally, as You are technically as a player, playing both armies, so RAW makes it still work. All other instances where it is codex specific have the caveat "All friendly units from Codex: Whatever." And there is no errata for divination in the Eldar FAQ.


This is basically only relevant for tournament of the champion, as a new Eldar dex will come out soon after that.

_________________
2013, Warhammer 40,000 Ultimate Champion
2012-13 Wargammer 40,000 General's & Standard League Champion
"I'm saying... I'm an insect who dreamt he was a man. But now the dream is over, and the insect is awake."


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Eldrad's Divination
PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2013 8:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 12:23 pm
Posts: 6188
Location: Northern Suburbs...
I'm inclined to say 2), though this is just a gut feeling of pure dodginess than anything else. :wink:

_________________
Remember: Low Standards = More Success


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Eldrad's Divination
PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2013 8:42 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 11:50 am
Posts: 1350
Quote:
Quote:
As today, I vote 1.

You're a Tau player, just stealing some Eldar psychic defence :D
Do you mean you vote 2? :P

I think its 1 personally, as You are technically as a player, playing both armies, so RAW makes it still work. All other instances where it is codex specific have the caveat "All friendly units from Codex: Whatever." And there is no errata for divination in the Eldar FAQ.


This is basically only relevant for tournament of the champion, as a new Eldar dex will come out soon after that.


Errr, yes.

I would argue that you are not playing an eldar army at all. You're playing a tau army, with eldar allies. That, and I want to protect my old as hell eldar codex from being pillaged

_________________
My Sons of Medusa Blog


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Eldrad's Divination
PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2013 8:52 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 4:11 pm
Posts: 8364
Location: Perth
Expect it fixed in the next 6 weeks or so if the rumours are true... That said, I still think 2

_________________
OBJECTIVE SECURED The 40k Blog

Official Malifaux Henchman for Perth, Western Australia - Interested in a Demo? PM me!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Eldrad's Divination
PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2013 9:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:36 pm
Posts: 2400
Cool, consensus seems to be 2.

Its eldrad's weakest ability, so I'm not too stressed :)

_________________
2013, Warhammer 40,000 Ultimate Champion
2012-13 Wargammer 40,000 General's & Standard League Champion
"I'm saying... I'm an insect who dreamt he was a man. But now the dream is over, and the insect is awake."


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Eldrad's Divination
PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2013 11:34 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 10:20 am
Posts: 11768
Location: Perth
Definitely agree that it's 2 as well.

_________________
Image Image Image Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Eldrad's Divination
PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 10:08 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 9:37 pm
Posts: 11303
'The Eldar player...' is simply how the active unit's owner is described in the Eldar Codex. The wording is not in any way unique to Eldrad's divination power, and is used frequently in the codex.

I can show this quite quickly by pulling a few rules into the discussion, Eg:

A player using Eldar as an ally can still use Eldrich Storm.

Image

A player using Eldar as an ally can still cast Mind War.

Image

A player using Eldar as an ally can still use Divination.

Image

etc


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Eldrad's Divination
PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 12:19 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:36 pm
Posts: 2400
Seems like Matt has proved it is 1 to me, anyway!

_________________
2013, Warhammer 40,000 Ultimate Champion
2012-13 Wargammer 40,000 General's & Standard League Champion
"I'm saying... I'm an insect who dreamt he was a man. But now the dream is over, and the insect is awake."


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Eldrad's Divination
PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 12:27 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 9:37 pm
Posts: 11303
Quote:
Seems like Matt has proved it is 1 to me, anyway!
The first option was the closest, but it's really:

4) Yes. You are the model's Player, regardless of whether it is part of a primary or secondary detatchment, and regardless of whether your allied detatchments are Battle Brothers, Allies of Convenience or Desperate Allies.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Eldrad's Divination
PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 1:37 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:09 pm
Posts: 3159
Id say it 3, as with eldar pyshic powers only affect eldar units and alot of the FAQs state things from their codex mainly work for eldar units.

But as someone pointed out dont mean much, as their new dex is out next month.

_________________
"Surround yourself with the greatest warriors at your command, or cower in the deepest and darkest hole you can find. It matters not. I shall take your head for the Great Khan and for the Emperor."
-Kor'sarro Khan, White Scars 3rd Company.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Eldrad's Divination
PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 2:27 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 9:10 am
Posts: 9570
Location: Perth
weeeeeeee new codex for my Eldarz

sorry, this has little to do with the topic :oops:


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Eldrad's Divination
PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 2:34 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 6:01 pm
Posts: 563
I'm surprised this was asked, I have always gone under the impression i was the player of both races if allied, Just keeping an eye out for any entrys that state target friendly eldar unit or as the trend is now target friendly modes from this codex. Neither apply here, 1 is the closest to what id do. I guess its each how we interpret the rules.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Eldrad's Divination
PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 4:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:36 pm
Posts: 2400
Quote:
Id say it 3, as with eldar pyshic powers only affect eldar units and alot of the FAQs state things from their codex mainly work for eldar units.

But as someone pointed out dont mean much, as their new dex is out next month.
Exactly outcast. Things state their use only for eldar units.

Divinination makes no such statement....

And yes. it only matters for tournament of the champion

_________________
2013, Warhammer 40,000 Ultimate Champion
2012-13 Wargammer 40,000 General's & Standard League Champion
"I'm saying... I'm an insect who dreamt he was a man. But now the dream is over, and the insect is awake."


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC+08:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited